+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
BSF Thread, Thin client performance in BSF schools in United Kingdom (UK) Specific Forums; I work in a school that uses thin clients for word processing and the like but in the ICT labs ...

Thank Post

Thin client performance in BSF schools

I work in a school that uses thin clients for word processing and the like but in the ICT labs we have fat clients as thin is too thin when running Flash, Dreamweaver and Fireworks with Netops in the background.

My question is this; How do BSF schools get around the problem of graphics and memory intensive software running on thin client only architecture?

I am an ICT teacher but years ago I once was a network manager so don't kick me out the forum yet. My school has applied for BSF funding and if given the go ahead we will have managed thin client architecture. Will I still be able to teach with all these programs running?

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,032 Times in 812 Posts
    We run flash, fireworks and dreamweaver without problems on thin client.

We are non-BSF and run graphical/memory intensive applications on XP/OSX

Thank Post
    From what I know (Bradford BSF Phase 2) graphic intense applications will be on 'fat' clients. As SUN refer to them.

We have a small test group of thin clients similar to how the BSF schools in Bradford are set up.

We have Office 2007 and Adobe Master suite on them. That's all they can handle really.

Thank Post
    There are two main things that dictate what kind of software you can run on your thin clients.

1) The spec of the actual thin client itself. Less powerful entry level clients have serious trouble animating even simple flash games. Here, it doesn't matter what kind of servers or network you have - any animation will be poor. A much more powerful thin client will run animation/video considerably better - in some cases very acceptably.