+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Blue Skies Thread, PHOTOTROPISM in General; Hi... I'm new to these forums, but first of all, good job! I am interested in looking at how Mother ...
    Thank Post

PHOTOTROPISM

Hi... I'm new to these forums, but first of all, good job!

I am interested in looking at how Mother Nature works for inspiration in ICT developments.

Currently I am studying Phototropism - in nature plants tend to grow toward the light (a phenomenon called Phototropism). Although some light is transmitted through the protector wall, there is more light higher up, especially light directly entering the opening at the top of the shelter. Plants will try to reach that light.

Applying the same principals to computing capacity and power / performance requirements is an interesting approach to resource usage optimisation - where part of the inherent function of 'the processor' is to 'reach' for the greatest light, or resource, output or availability. This negates the software, be it OS or application, having to do just that and in theory frees up the resources wasted in them doing so.

I'd be very interested in your thinking on this area.
    Last edited by corylus; 15th October 2008 at 08:26 PM. Reason: Grammar

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by corylus View Post
    Although some light is transmitted through the protector wall
    I assume you mean those brown plastic widgets that are tied around saplings to stop deer eating their bark?

Applying the same principals to computing capacity and power / performance requirements is an interesting approach to resource usage optimisation - where part of the inherent function of 'the processor' is to 'reach' for the greatest light, or resource, output or availability. This negates the software, be it OS or application, having to do just that and in theory frees up the resources wasted in them doing so.