Another release on the BETT awards.

‘And the Award goes to...’
BETT Awards 2011 are now open, with a brand new look

The BETT Awards partners, Emap Connect and BESA (The British Educational Suppliers Association) are pleased to announce the launch of the prestigious 13th annual BETT Awards to be held on Wednesday 12 January 2011.

For 2011, the BETT Awards are taking on a fresh new look with the introduction of a new category, Environmental Sustainability and a new judging process. The industry and educators truly recognise the value of the awards and in order to retain reputation and to continue to be successful, for 2011, an entry fee of £175+VAT per product (£155+VAT for BESA members) will apply. The BETT Awards team are committed to ensuring a fair and robust judging system, continued judging by educational professionals, a focus on what works in the classroom or school, and dissemination of winning and shortlisted products and companies through BETT.

The BETT Awards highlight exemplary technological products and innovations for the education marketplace and is considered the most esteemed accolade in the industry. The Awards run alongside BETT, the world’s largest technology in education event and the winners are seen to have excelled in ICT provision and support for nurseries, schools, colleges and special schools alike with a clear focus on what works in the classroom.

The BETT Awards 2011 will focus on the impact of ICT products and services in the classroom or school in 13 distinctive categories as suggested by BECTA in consultation with Emap and BESA, to ensure continuity.

The BETT Awards 2011 categories are:
· Early Years & Primary Digital Content

· Secondary, FE & Skills Digital Content

· Tools for Learning and Teaching

· Digital Collections and Resource Banks

· Special Educational Needs Solutions

· Digital Devices

· Leadership & Management Solutions

· Environmental Sustainability

· ICT Company of the Year

· ICT Exporter of the Year

· ICT Education Partnership

· ICT Service and Support

The final category requires no entries, as the shortlist and winner is decided by a separate group of experts
· Outstanding Achievement in ICT Education

BESA will again act as chair of judges, overseeing the impartiality and fairness of the judging. Judging will consist of a two stage process by education professionals. The first will consist of paper-based submissions by entrants to convince judges of the value of their product or service as they meet the category criteria achieved. This will be achieved by the inclusion of case study material and data to prove effectiveness and impact following the removal of the technical testing part of the process. Only shortlisted products or equipment will then be sent for hands-on judging in the second stage.

Paul Dunne, managing director, Emap Connect says: “Following the government reforms of the education sector and the demise of BECTA, Emap and BESA have persevered to ensure the valued and respected BETT Awards could continue for the benefit of both the industry and educators. We thank you for your continued support and look to celebrating another year of outstanding entries”.

Ray Barker, director of BESA and chair of judges says: “Winners of the highly esteemed BETT Awards enjoy recognition within the sector, both in the UK and internationally, as innovative, quality suppliers. This year’s changes will ensure that the BETT Awards will continue to showcase the most innovative and engaging resources and will still be judged by a panel of independent ICT expert practitioners – those people who really know what works in the classroom.”

Award entries can be completed online at until the closing date Monday 4 October, and the shortlist will be published at the end of October. The winners will be announced at a prestigious gala evening event on 12 January 2011, the opening day of BETT (12-15 January 2010, London Olympia, Home - BETT 2011). To reserve your table for the Awards, please visit