+ Post New Thread
AV and Multimedia Related Thread, Visualisers: pros and cons of connecting USB/separate power, etc. in Technical; Can anyone give me an idea of the pros and cons of the various ways you can connect visualisers? I ...
    Thank Post

Visualisers: pros and cons of connecting USB/separate power, etc.

Can anyone give me an idea of the pros and cons of the various ways you can connect visualisers? I see some connect and take power over USB, and some seem to have separate power and connect through the VGA port. We would be using them with SMARTboards. Power sockets are always an issue here, and I am tempted by the idea of USB connection. But does that take a lot of power from the laptop, meaning that it grinds to a halt..?? Also, how do you connect via VGA when the SMARTboard is attached to that on the laptop? Sorry if I am being very dense, but I have no experience of these and need help from all you experts out there...flatter, flatter... I need to avoid making an expensive mistake!

Thank Post
    Don't know if it helps but @Millgate have supplied us with some wireless visualisers.

The base sits near your PC as normal but you can carry around the other part of the unit to view work, saves a lot of hassle with long wires, moving work to the front etc.......?

This doesnt necessarily answer all your questions but its something to think about perhaps?

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    In my experience you use either the laptop or the Visuliser. I dont think splitters work. It's the only downside for me as i was trying to move staff away from disconnecting cables.

Thank Post
    As for connection, our visualisers have pass through VGA connectors. If the visualiser is off or set the the PC channel, the PC shows on the projector. This is with Avermedia models, probably the same on most.

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by 3s-gtech View Post
    This is with Avermedia models, probably the same on most.