+ Post New Thread
AV and Multimedia Related Thread, SMART Table in Technical; SMART Table! I have no experience of these personally and a colleague of mine is interested. If anyone could help ...

Thank Post

SMART Table

SMART Table! I have no experience of these personally and a colleague of mine is interested. If anyone could help me out it would be much appreciated. We have the following queries

a) Are they any good?
    b) Are they worth the price tag?
    c) If you have one - are they being used to full capabilities?
    I believe Microsoft now have something similar so how does it stack up again that aswell?

Any feedback appreciated.
    Adam

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,023 Times in 787 Posts
    Blog Entries
    Yeah, they're pretty good.
    Worth the price tag? Not so sure. It's an interactive whiteboard on it's end with a PC attached. Could you perhaps not do the same with similar (or the same?) software on a straight IWB and PC attached.

Unfortunately out of the 2 schools I have a smart table in, neither has had the time or willingness to actually put them to really good use often - but when it was first set up and the "novelty" was there, you could see the kids wanting to actually get on with using them, and play around a bit more, learning as they did so. I think with more time, it would be an invaluable resource. The only large difference between a table and most IWB's is multi-touch.

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,171 Times in 994 Posts
    Blog Entries
    *Sssshhhhhh*
    We're trying to borrow one for the EduGeek stand at BETT

Thank Post
    Ahh so SMARTTable's are essentially the Wii's of the classroom? Great when you first get them but unless you invest time in them there pointless? In regards to lieing a board down that may be problamitic due to projector... Short throw on a boom would likely wobble and unalign too much. Keep the reviews coming please!

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,023 Times in 787 Posts
    Blog Entries