+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
AV and Multimedia Related Thread, Display for foyer presentation in Technical; Hi, I am getting together some ideas for a new presentation display for the foyer. My first idea is to ...
    Thank Post
    Blog Entries

Display for foyer presentation

Hi, I am getting together some ideas for a new presentation display for the foyer.
    My first idea is to get a small computer straped to the back of a 40"+ display ideally the PC would have HD output but I am new to the murky world of HD so any pointers here would be good. is there such a thing as a PC with built in HD? I would run Irfanview via command line/task sched opening a folder on a server where staff can drop their pics and videos. I'd kill it and rerun it once per day so that new files are added to the playback

idea two is to use a media streamer like this

Popcorn-Hour-A-110-Networked-Media-Tank

not sure if it would connect to a network share n a server and do looping etc. Does anyone have experience of these and can recomend device, my experience with these things is they do nearly everthing you want but always seem to miss some critical functionality that you dont find out about til you buy it!
    Last edited by Hacksawbob; 27th April 2009 at 11:55 AM.

Thank Post
    I have this mobo Universal abit > Motherboard, Digital Speakers, iDome, AirPace, Multimedia which has an intergrated hdmi socket and have it connected via a hd cable to my hd ready tv.

hope this helps

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,162 Times in 987 Posts
    Blog Entries
    Have a word with Navaho, one of or bestest friends and look at their MediaCat product

http://www.navaho.co.uk/

Thank Post
    We use the Samsung 460DXn screen which has a pc built in but currently only running Windows XP Embedded, i'm hoping to put Windows XP Pro on someday soon. We then use Sadeo imageflyer which is great!

Thank Post
    Have a look at Xibo, works really well once its set up