+ Post New Thread
AV and Multimedia Related Thread, Streaming Media - Secondary School in Technical; Hi All, I am an IT Technician in a secondary school/college in London, I wanted to get some clarity on ...

Thank Post

Streaming Media - Secondary School

Hi All,

I am an IT Technician in a secondary school/college in London, I wanted to get some clarity on what other schools are using i.e. software/online resource to stream media across the school internally. Primarily this will be films and video resources used for educational purposes in the classroom but we were interested to know what other schools are doing.

We are mainly a windows based network (Windows 7), with approximately just under 1000 PC's with a quarter of these being iMac's that are integrated to the domain.

Thanks All!

Ryan

Thank Post
    We used to use a share that all the staff could get to that had all the videos that teachers would need and that worked fine, now we are starting to use something called planet E-stream which I'm told it is like as a school owned Youtube (not had much to do with this so far as I was the only IT tech that was not allowed to go to the trianing).

Thank Post
    We use Helix Media Server where I work, which is great for small clips but I wouldn't want to do a whole movie, although there are some sites who use it and do. At my last school we used Clickview. HML is good as it plays in any browser so you can stream outside your local network. Think of it as your own youtube. Clickview needs a client on each PC but has loads of features.

Thank Post

Streaming Solution

We are ex clickview users too we got demos of helix and planet esteem. E-stream is cheaper and does more.

Thank Post
    We currently stream our library of approx. 1.5k videos using an on-premise Red5 server; through a WordPress based front-end.

Thank Post