+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
AV and Multimedia Related Thread, Stage DMX lighting system haunted? in Technical; Hi. I'm having issues with my school's lighting system in our "theatre". I am new to the school here in ...

Thank Post

Stage DMX lighting system haunted?

Hi. I'm having issues with my school's lighting system in our "theatre". I am new to the school here in Viet Nam and no one here has a clue how to use this lighting system. It is a 20 LED par can light system, 3 pin DMX throughout, a board that looks like a Chauvet Obey 40 but seems to be some kind of no-name DMX 512 desk. The lights look to have been daisy chained. In the past, they have been used as just a plain red wash or green wash or flashing mode. It was working ok but the stage looked like hell. I WANT to be able to control them individually. They were all initially set up with their dip switches set for 1 and 10 only.
    I have tried setting them to separate channels (i.e. changing the dip switches to 1 then 1,5 etc.) but once I did that, they started randomly flashing. I tried switching them back to 1,10 but they are still doing their own thing. I tried setting them all to the proper address with 10 switched on too. Still no response. Now, I can't even get them back to going all red.
    I'm fairly new to DMX systems. Can anyone offer suggestions as to what the heck I have done wrong?
    I also have a couple of other questions.
    Since I have 20 par cans but only 12 fixture buttons, can I assign 2 lights to one address?
    Could the polarity switch on the back of the board do this?
    Help, please, anybody.

Thank Post
    hi there - so DMX is just a signal of numbers sent to the lights, the string of data looks like channel 1 data, channel 2 data ect upto 512. The controller sends out all of this. If two devices use the same addresses they simply listen to that channel data. You can have all of them or non of them set to address 1 and and it will work.